Monday, June 25, 2012

No Rest for the Dead: A Novel

No Rest for the Dead: A Novel, various authors, Touchstone Books (a division Simon and Schuster, Inc.), $15.00 list price, paperback.

When museum curator Christopher Thomas is murdered, his wife Rosemary is tried, convicted, and executed as the killer even though there could have been many suspects given the cruel and manipulative nature of Thomas.  However, ten years later detective Jon Dunn, who was responsible for having Rosemary convicted and has been haunted by doubt that she was guilty, receives information that leads him to believe she was indeed innocent as she contended right up to the last moments of her life.  He sets out to prove that the wrong person was executed and works to find the real killer before more people involved in the case die.

This was a great story and was unique in that it was co-written by 26 top mystery writers (see the list below).  I wasn't sure how that would work or whether the storyline would stay intact but it did, even with so many different writing styles. There were also several characters important to the plot and the story had to fluctuate between the past and the present, but both were handled well without confusing the reader. The story itself was everything I like in a good mystery and held my interest right up to the surprise ending.

The authors contributing to this project include:
Jeff Abbott • Lori Armstrong • Sandra Brown • Thomas Cook • Jeffery Deaver • Diana Gabaldon • Tess Gerritsen • Andrew F. Gulli • Peter James • J.A. Jance • Faye Kellerman • Raymond Khoury • John Lescroart • Jeff Lindsay • Gayle Lynds • Phillip Margolin • Alexander McCall Smith • Michael Palmer • T. Jefferson Parker • Matthew Pearl • Kathy Reichs • Marcus Sakey • Jonathan Santlofer • Lisa Scottoline • R. L. Stine • Marcia Talley

No comments:

Post a Comment

All comments are moderated. Those that include links to other websites, are from anonymous users, spam, inappropriate, or not in response to the book reviews will be tagged as spam and the sender blocked from future commenting at this blog.